Editor's Rating

Have a listen to: "Disgust Me" and "Only Happy When It Rains"

Rating out of 10

New Years Day – Diary Of A Creep

Release Date: 26th January 2018
Century Media Records

With three studio albums under their belts and an array of EP’s across their back catalogue, Californian female-fronted New Years Day start off their 2018 with a something a little different for their fans. Their music, self-acclaimed as “Hauntedmansioncore” is an intense and incredibly raw mix of hard-rock and goth-metal, established back in the era of MySpace. As the group finalise their fourth full-length record, they give a little something back to fans in the form of a covers EP: featuring five covers and one brand new track.

They kick off with the only original track from the collection ‘Disgust Me’. The track is incredibly strong and certainly is a cut above what the group have produced prior. There is something for everyone in the three-minute running time; intoxicating vocals and thick guitars to match as well as a contrasting breakdown that kicks in an acoustic guitar and soft vocal marriage. If this is a hint towards what is to come in their fourth full-length then we’re certainly in for a treat.

The rockers then go on to pay tribute to Pantera with their cover of ‘Fucking Hostile’. It embodies the original darkness in a whole new light that truly sings praises for the late Dimebag Darrell. On the subject of wonderful acclamation to late legends, they follow up with a striking variation of Linkin Park’s ‘Crawling’. They bring forward a more modernised take, particularly with the intro, featuring heavy synth accompaniments. They pose the brash drum rhythms as a forefront element and only feature the familiar melodic progression that makes the original so prominent briefly during the closing bars of their cover.

Only Happy When It Rains’ is a cover that displays a lot more power than the original. New Years Day embeds a succession of extra layers that creates an incredibly enjoyable spin to the 1995 anthem from female-fronted four-piece Garbage. The brilliant Lzzy Hale of Halestorm lends her fiery prowess to the track and the vocal duo works flawlessly together.

Covering No Doubt does seem like a no brainer for a band like New Years Day and they proved that with their rendition of ‘Don’t Speak’. Frontwoman Ash Costello pours her entire heart into this track and the passion for the original material speaks wonders. This selected track, alongside the four additional depictions on the record suit the vocal capabilities of Costello superbly.

For an EP of covers, it is clear that New Years Day pulled it off and managed to make the tracks their own. It is bold and incredibly enjoyable to listen to and get a pleasant reminder of some classic tracks from the likes of Linkin Park, Pantera and No Doubt. It may not be for everyone, as I imagine some die-hard fans of the originals may have other things to say, but it is still a solid collection of variations. This record really shows off the tunes that made the Californian quintet who they are today.

For fans of: Halestorm, Lacuna Coil, In This Moment

For more New Years Day