Canadian punk quartet The OBGMs have released their ferocious single ‘Torpedo’. This marks the first single off of the band’s debut album to be released for the first time internationally later this summer by Black Box. Additionally, the band has also released a music video for ‘Torpedo’ directed by Ryan Enn Hughes which you can watch further down

The OBGMs were formed in 2008 by Densil McFarlane (songwriter, guitar/vocals) and Colanthony Humphrey (drums/percussion) with Joe Brosnan (bass) and Jemuel Roberts (keys) joining later in 2011.

Unlike most rock band beginnings, the group first emerged as a rap trio in Toronto’s thriving hip hop scene. Soon after discovering the world of punk music, Densil McFarlane began teaching himself guitar, determined to create a band that fused th lyrical creativity of his hip hop roots and the rowdy, raw energy of the punk rock underground.

Blending the worlds of 70s punk and 80s garage with elements of new wave, breakbeat and hip hop, The OBGMs brought an eclectic jolt of life into the Toronto punk scene, the same scene which has produced such notable bands such as Fucked Up, Metz, Pup and The Dirty Nil.

Before long, the band gained a reputation in the Toronto community as a chaotic, energetic, not to miss live band which eventually gained them slots at notable festivals such as: Made in America, Riot Fest, Osheaga, Festival D’Ete, Ottawa BluesFest, Iceland Airwaves, SXSW and Afropunk.

Teaming up with Toronto / LA based independent label Black Box, whose diverse roster features: SonReal, The Glorious Sons, Clairmont The Second, Shad, Northcote and more, The OBGMs have set their sights on the world at large, determined to bring their sweaty, basement bread punk rock to the masses.

Their debut album, mixed by the incomparable Dave Schiffman (The Bronx, Pup, and more,) will be out later this summer.

The OBGMs will have a string of dates later this year including an appearance at the Afropunk Festival‘s London installment. The band have previously shared the stage with notable artists such as Bad Brains, Anti-Flag, Glassjaw, Thee Oh Sees, Saul Williams and Unlocking The Truth.

Check out the video for ‘Torpedo’

For more The OBGMs