SOEN – the heavy progressive rock group featuring world-renowned drummer Martin Lopez (formerly of Amon Amarth and Opeth) and the dynamic voice of Joel Ekelöf (Willowtree) – will release their upcoming full-length opus ‘Lykaia‘ on February 3rd via UDR Music. ‘Lykaia‘ is a journey into earthy, emotive places, and is SOEN‘s most cohesive, powerful and congruent creative quest yet.

Last week, MetalSucks posted the first segment of their exclusive, three-week SOEN video interview series, in which Martin Lopez discussed the formation of SOEN after striking out on his own, and detailed the band’s new track ‘Opal‘ atop a sample of the unreleased track. This week’s segment will feature Joel Ekelöf discussing his take on ‘Lykaia‘ ‘s lyrical content, as well as the band’s approach to organic recordings and his feelings about digital recordings and backing tracks in modern music.

Watch the videos below:

Stay tuned for a third segment of the video series with MetalSucks, posting next Thursday.

Lykaia‘ pre-orders are now available in three formats – digitally, audio CD in digisleeve, and gatefold vinyl. Order now and receive ‘Sectarian‘ and ‘Lucidity‘ as immediate downloads.

Amazon MP3:
iTunes MP3:
Sectarian‘ instant grat:


LykaiaTrack listing:

1 – Sectarian

2 – Orison

3 – Lucidity

4 – Opal

5 – Jinn

6 – Sister

7 – Stray

8 – Paragon

For more SOEN